Sang Eun Woo, PhD

Dr. Woo is an Associate Professor of Industrial and Organizational Psychology at Purdue University. She received her B.A. in psychology from Ewha Womans University in South Korea, and a Ph.D. in industrial and organizational psychology from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the States.

Areas of Expertise
Employee engagement, withdrawal, turnover/retention
Developing and validating psychological measures for selection, diagnosis, and development

Research Interests
Personality and individual differences
Voluntary turnover and withdrawal processes
Construct & scale validation (focusing on openness, culture, and multilevel constructs)
Behavioral assessment (e.g., assessment centers, situational judgment tests)
Alternative approaches to psychological and organizational science (e.g., person-centered perspective, inductive/abductive reasoning, Bayesian estimation and inference)

Research Statement

Curriculum Vitae



Andrew Jebb, M.A.

Andrew Jebb is a doctoral student working with Dr. Sang Woo. He graduated with a B.A. in psychology from Duquesne University in 2011 and received an M.A. from SUNY Buffalo in 2013 where he did research in the field of cognitive psychology. His current interests include Bayesian modeling and statistics, employee turnover, and personality in the workplace and beyond.

Scott Parrigon, M.A.

Scott Parrigon is a doctoral student in Industrial-Organizational Psychology at Purdue University. Prior to coming to Purdue, Scott received his B.S. in Psychology and Sociology from Missouri State University and his M.A. in Clinical Adult Psychology from Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville. Scott's major research interests include the psychological classification of situations, how the emotional demands of work influence the emotional labor process, and how individual and organizational processes unfold over time. Scott is also interested in methodological, measurement, and ethical issues in I/O psychology.

Rachel Saef, M.S.

Rachel is originally from Sarasota, Florida. Prior to joining Purdue's I/O Psychology program Rachel attended Florida State University, where she majored in psychology and minored in sociology and business. As an undergraduate, she focused on social psychology topics such as self-regulation, implicit personality, self-control, consequences of rejection, trait malleability, and social judgments. Her research experience, in combination with course work, developed her interest in Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Rachel is now pursuing a doctorate in Industrial/Organizational psychology here at Purdue and is working with Dr. Sang Eun Woo. Her interests revolve around individual differences and personality traits' influence on behavior, performance, satisfaction, and commitment in the workplace, as well as the role of individual differences in work group dynamics and situation development. She is currently working on a number of projects, including a study on the measurement of and relationship between personality and job performance, personality in multicultural work groups, and the structure and nomological net of Openness to Experience.


Caitlin Porter, PhD (Graduated May 2016)

Assistant Professor, Univeresity of Houston


Fall 2015

Spring 2015

Fall 2013

Spring 2013


Research Associates

(Those in bold have gone to graduate schools in psychology and related fields)

David Tan (Spring 2010), Heidi Hoefer (Spring 2010), Lisa Hayes (Spring 2010), Sarah Ahmed (Spring 2010, Summer 2010), Corey Snow (Summer 2010), Sean Mulvaney (Summer 2010), Megan Moody (Summer 2010), Han Kang (Fall 2010, Spring 2011), Kelsey Begle (Fall 2010, Spring 2011), Scott Rogers (Fall 2010, Spring 2011), Vanessa Gresham-Miller (Fall 2010), Gina Angelina Ankrom (Spring 2011), Mrinalini Mahalingam (Spring 2011), Krystal McGlaun (Fall 2011), Elizabeth Trancik (Fall 2011 – Spring 2013), Chelsea Weber (Fall 2011 – Spring 2013), Sarah Wood (Fall 2011), Ann Park (Fall 2012, Spring 2013), Dasol Kim (Fall 2012, Spring 2013), Gabe Elkin (Fall 2012, Spring 2013), Lauren Bray (Fall 2012), Megan Sasser (Fall 2012), Nicole Morande (Fall 2012), Skye Barella (Fall 2012), Brad Barnett (Spring 2013), Cade Barella (Spring 2013, Fall 2013), Capucine Reutenauer (Spring 2013), Hwayeon Lee (Spring 2013), Joan Kim (Spring 2013), Kurt Williams (Spring 2013), Izzy Landis (Fall 2013, Spring 2014), Marta Tremblay (Fall 2013), Edwin Yoon (Fall 2013), Alice Wong (Fall 2013), Xin Hou (Spring 2014), Ali Bartlett (Spring 2014), Melissa Jo Manning (Spring 2014), Lori Nussbaum (Spring 2014), Michael Breternitz (Spring 2014), Eung Il Kim (Spring 2014 – Fall 2014), Doug Gutridge (Spring 2014 – Fall 2014), Michael Sikorski (Spring 2014 – Spring 2015), Yusuke Yamamoto (Spring 2014 – Spring 2015), Xiuli Wang (Fall 2014), Cooper Dixon (Spring 2015), Seoyeon Lim (Spring 2015), Emily Hazen (Spring 2015), Christine Doughererty (Spring 2015), Jacob Unfried (Spring 2015), Azwanina Azham Shah (Spring 2015), Jacob Rezell (Spring 2015 - Fall 2015), Kyle Kazanjian (Spring 2015 – Fall 2015), Derek Carroll (Fall 2015), Samantha Mikisch (Fall 2015), Anoop Javalagi (Spring 2015 – Spring 2016), Haojing (Coral) Zhu (Spring 2015 – Spring 2016), Dana Tomeh (Spring 2015–  present).